6.27.16 Double Milkshake IPA

In weeks prior, my friend showed up as normal with a can of Tired Hands Milkshake IPA with passion fruit.  To my understanding, it’s a collaboration brew with Omnipollo.  This was amazingly different.  Big notes of tropical fruits, citrus, passion fruit, and vanilla ice cream.  Being from Michigan, most of the Tired Hands stuff is alien to me.  All I know is that I can’t get enough hops.  This brew was mind-blowingly good.   As with the majority of the NE hops, I can’t get them.. so let’s make them.

After stumbling through numerous threads, blogs, and postings I came across a fellow member on homebrewtalk.com (mintyice) who had some inside information regarding the milkshake brews.  He claimed to have made several, so I inquired.

“TH/Omnipollo recipes are closer to: 70% pils, 20% wheat, and 10% oats. Lots of whatever juicy/tropical hop you can get. London Ale III again, 1.5 lbs. Lactose, 2.5 vanilla beans in the keg. (the recipe I have has 1 lb. dextrose at the end of the boil. OG ~1.054. 2lbs+ of whatever fruit you want (I’d go closer to 1lb per gallon). I used juice in a recent mango IPA (32oz) and you can use 32-64oz of whatever good juice you can get from Whole Foods/Trader Joe’s.

I also learned that TH/Omnipollo uses pureed apple in the Milkshake IPA.  Listening to a podcast, I absorbed as much info as I could.  I decided to put 4 huge granny smith apples, peeled and pureed, into my mash.  All the pectins.

My brew equipment, as primitive as it is, has been downsized.  If I’m going to make a great beer, I want to have a lot of it to go around.  I enlisted the assistance and equipment of the MI Beer Guy.  Typically I develop a recipe based on my 2.5 gallon equipment, especially when in development.  I was persuaded to go big, so the recipe was doubled.

Grains/Fermentables:

Pilsner

Flaked Oats

Flaked Wheat

CaraPils

Dextrose

HOPS:

(Columbus, Belma, Mosaic, Citra) and (Columbus, Belma, Citra, Motueka)

OTHER INGREDIENTS:

Golden Delicious Apples (skinned pureed)

AP Flour, Time: 15 min

Strawberries (2lb – gallon)

Vintner’s Harvest Sweet Cherry Puree – 1  49oz can

Vanilla bean

Lactose

Maltodextrin

YEAST:

Wyeast – London Ale III 1318

Brew day went fairly smoothly aside from a partially stuck sparge from what we believe to be from the apples.  Going forward, if I ever used apples again, they would go in the boil.  In addition, Belma was a happy accident.  I’ve experimented extensively with Belma.  I want it to work for me.. I want it to be great, but I am yet to see it.  There’s lots of fresh strawberry aroma and flavor on Belma, perhaps it’ll work out and lend itself to the strawberry in my recipe.  It certainly played out well in the aroma coming from the kettle in the whirlpool – WOW.

FB_IMG_1465172424183

I realize that I may have gotten a little wild with the fill in my fermenter, so I racked off a gallon into my 2.5 gallon conical, and topped off with another half-gallon of sanitized water.

Aeration for 2 minutes using my handy drill paint stirrer attachment.  The yeast is a second generation strain previously used in Galaxy Gravy built up with a starter for 24 hours.  Fermentation began within 12 hours of pitching.  The next morning I arose to the back room (where I ferment) of my house filled with a creamy, banana, berry aroma reminiscent of walking into an ice cream parlor.

Dry hops went in at fermentation slowed.  Since this is a bigger beer, I added a charge of yeast energizer and nutrient to encourage full attenuation before adding my fruit.  I had intentions to rack to the secondary, but I want to minimize oxygen exposure potential.

6/13 – I added 2lb of chopped strawberries (soaked in sanitizer) and pureed with the ninja blender and added to the conical.  Also added 1, 49oz can of vintner’s harvest sweet cherry puree to the larger fermenter.  It seems that the yeast still has some work to do.  The larger fermenter is still active.  I’m going to keep my eye on the conical as I expect that to finish sooner.  My, the base beer is tasty!

6/20 – The cherry portion finished at 1.018 on June 20 and was kegged atop citra, mosaic, and vanilla bean.   I’m VERY impressed at how the WY1318 took to this.  That’s almost 10 points down from what my software estimated.  Pressure was applied at 25psi, purged of O2, and rocked for a few minutes.  After transferring, I took a shot glass of the beer for myself.  Huge citric, stone front nose.  Some burn from the alcohol; after all, this one turned out to be about 9.5% not counting the fruit addition.  My best guess is 10.5 – 11% abv.  There is a nice, mild sweetness from the lactose.  The color is straw pale.  I can’t wait to try this in its final form when the vanilla and keg hops take hold.  Wednesday is my b-day and I intend for it to be happy.

The strawberry portion in the conical is being cold crashed.  Added to the conical were citra, motueka, and vanilla bean.  This is my first experience with motueka and it smells amazing.  I can’t wait to experiment with these hops in the future.  I did not pull a sample as the top yeast did not flocculate out yet, thus, my logic behind the cold crash.  I want to mitigate the chance of getting that in the bottles.

6/27 – Bottled the strawberry portion and will be giving it away to local friends for their feedback.  The cherry portion is drinking very well.  On the nose is sweet vanilla, slight cherry, lots of tropical fruit.  Huge, thick mouthfeel with light bitterness, full flavor, and a bit of a bite from the alcohol.  This was an excellent beer and I can’t think of much that I’d do differently.  Cheers – Mike

11 thoughts on “6.27.16 Double Milkshake IPA

  1. Mike how many different batches did this make?
    Little unclear of the size batch you were doing.
    Also the AP flour when, were and how much?

    Like

    • Well, there were a few unforeseen things on my end. I was under the impression that I was going to be brewing on a system to produce 8 gallons, so, I prepared as such. I was wrong and wound up having to cram all of this beer into a 5.5 gallon fermenter.

      After transporting the batch home, I pumped 1 gallon off the top of the fermenter into my smaller brewdemon conical and topped off with a half gallon of water. I feared that due to the batch volume discrepancy, it would turn out way too powerful. So, scratch that part up to my experimentation. It does appear that the fruit flavor and aroma is more present in the diluted portion of the batch.

      For this, I used 4oz AP Flour in the boil with 15 minutes remaining. If I could go back and do this again, I would have skipped the AP Flour addition. The first few pours off of the keg were awfully chalky until it settled out completely. I would change when I added the apple puree from the mash, to the 15 minute mark in the boil and re-evaluate.

      Cheers – thanks for reading.

      Like

  2. Hi great article, beer looks great. If you don’t mind can you list the amounts you used and timings for a 5.5 gallon batch please? I’m trying to emulate this beer for fun and would like a good rule of thumb so I don’t blow a crap load of money tinkering with this. Thanks.

    Like

    • The grain bill consisted of:
      15lb Pilsner
      1 lb Flaked Oats
      3 lb Flaked Wheat
      1 lb Carapils
      4 lb Processed green apple puree (mash)
      .5 lb Dextrose (15min)
      1 lb Lactose (15min)
      4 oz Maltodextrin (had it laying around)
      4 oz AP Flour (15 min)

      I feel that the bittering hops could be interchangeable. Those were added as a FWH. The only other additions were made at flameout and whirlpool. Again, I feel those can be interchangeable as long as they are of the tropical/fruity kind or play well with the fruit chosen. The total IBU was around 40 considering 5% utilization in the WP.

      Like

      • Thanks for the info. I didn’t see you responded lol.

        I’m a novice homebrewer I only have like 6 homebrews under my belt, I use LME and I don’t mash, do you think I can still accomplish this recipe especially with the Puree?

        Thanks,
        M

        Like

      • Manny, absolutely! Some of the best homebrews I’ve tasted are extract batches. You could do a partial mash with your flaked adjuncts and add malto dextrin to increase the body. I would avoid any crystal/caramel malts in an extract batch because you want the color as light as possible. Add your malto dextrin near the end of your boil when you add the apple puree. I’ve also read that to increase body in extract brewing you can save half of your extract and add it near the end of the boil.

        Like

    • I’d say about at the 15 minute mark. The goal is supposedly to release the pectins in the fruit into suspension. When I did this the first time, I mashed the puree and that was a messy stuck sparge. Make sure you let me know how it goes!

      Like

      • Will do, when I have time later I’ll compose to recipe as a 1 gallon batch and let me know if things seem right.

        Thanks again!

        Like

Leave a Reply

