6.30.16 Tree House Yeast

Since my equipment was at capacity this week, I decided to give one more chance to using the yeast cultured from cans of Tree House Brewing.  I haven’t had any new cans since January and had one failed experiment due to my lacking equipment and an underpitch of yeast.  I did still have some of the yeast inside of a mason jar inside my fridge.  Truthfully, I had no idea if it were even still viable.

20160614_173011

I boiled 200ml of water with ¼ cup of extra light DME and pitched my remaining dregs and then onto the stir plate.  24 hours went by without much visible activity.  I added another addition of 200ml boiled water, this time with yeast nutrient, energizer, and another ¼ extra light DME and BOOM.  Off she went.  Going forward I will measure gravity of my starters with my recently purchased refractometer.

20160614_191040

The NEIPA craze has led many conversations as to what yeast is truly used.  WL007 / WY1318 / US04 / WY1056 / Conan.. I’ve tried all of these to date and I’ve had favorable results with all except US04 (wet cardboard).  If I had to say which yeast I’ve used that most closely resembles this Tree House culture would be Conan, simply because the only way I’ve been able to get Conan to drop out is using cold crashing.  All others have dropped on their own.  My experience with Conan is that it will stay in suspension until you take action to actively remove it.  This Tree House yeast, acts the same.

I’m currently crashing the starter in order to decant and ramp it up once more before its call to duty (and top cropping).  My first experiment (that failed) was a heavy handed IPA using Belma and Citra hops.  I may do something that I know works and suits my palate; Mosaic/Amarillo in a 1:1 ratio yields huge, bright peach when used in late addition.

20160615_175734

2 thoughts on “6.30.16 Tree House Yeast

  1. Hey, curious if you’ve been able to brew with your harvested Tree House yeast yet. I harvested from a can of Alter Ego and was successful in getting it stepped up so was trying to do some research on temps for the yeast but haven’t had much luck. Before defaulting to mid- to high-60s I thought I’d see if you’ve got any thoughts. Thanks!

    Like

    • Yes! The Tree House yeast has been my go-to for the better part of a year now and I’ve continued to have great success using it. I’ve cultured two strains; one is about 8th generation and the other is 5th. I see no signs of attenuation dropping off.

      I normally ferment at 68F for 2-3 days. As fermentation slows, I raise the temp 1 degree per day until I hit 72F. I hold at 72 for 24 hours and then allow the beer to rest at ambient room temperature for 3 days to one week. I’ve let the beer sit on the yeast cake for as long as 3 weeks before with no ill effects. From there, I cold crash for 48 hours and then transfer to the keg. Cold condition in keg for 1-2 weeks (good luck not drinking it all by then) and then pour away.

      I stepped up some Conan from Heady Topper and find it to be very close to the Tree House yeast, but with subtle differences. I believe Tree House yeast is, or originated as Conan.

      Heads up that this yeast will drop clear to give way to a crystal clear beer that packs all the aromas and peachy esters that you know and love. The haze is from proteins in suspension. I’ve dry hopped the piss out some beers and had them drop clear using this yeast. This typically happens when I don’t add any adjuncts such as flaked oats/wheat.

      Its not much of a top cropper so be prepared to wash your yeast or reuse your cake when you keg.

      Like

Leave a Reply

