7.28.16 Tree House Julius Clone

I’ve received a few requests since I began this blog with folks looking for a Julius Clone.  The truth is, I don’t have an exact clone.  I do have a recipe that will get you in the neighborhood.  Call me a fan boy, but I’m always willing to give credit where it’s due.  Nate Lanier is the man and makes his bread and butter with some of the best hoppy beers in the country.  I’ve reached out to Nate on twitter several times trying to get insight to crack the code.  So far, all I’ve been able to gather is…

Any bit of information is helpful.  I’d love an opportunity to have a beer with Nate.  He’s an inspiration and it’s admirable to see people follow their dreams and succeed.

Anyhow, here’s the recipe according to how I brewed it last in Spring 2016.  It wasn’t the best, but time was it’s friend.  It also probably didn’t help that I accidentally bought Nelson instead of Citra…  It was beer!  I’ve replaced the Nelson additions with Citra because these are some of the hops I believe to be in the beer.  I say some, because I believe there is more.  Currently, I feel there is Columbus – Amarillo – Citra – and SOMETHING else presumably American.

HOME BREW RECIPE:
Title: Julius V3
Author: mike strasser

Brew Method: Hillbilly Kitchen – BIAB
Style Name: American IPA
Boil Time: 60 min
Batch Size: 3 gallons (fermentor volume)
Boil Size: 3.5 gallons
Boil Gravity: 1.058
Efficiency: 70% (brew house)
STATS:
Original Gravity: 1.067
Final Gravity: 1.014
ABV (standard): 6.95%
IBU (tinseth): 58.82
SRM (morey): 6.37

FERMENTABLES:
4.5 lb – American – Pale 2-Row (60.3%)
1.4 lb – Flaked Oats (18.8%)
0.5 lb – American – Munich – Light 10L (6.7%)
2 oz – American – Caramel / Crystal 40L (1.7%)
2 oz – Canadian – Honey Malt (1.7%)
0.75 lb – Corn Sugar – Dextrose (10.1%)

HOPS:
0.5 oz – Columbus, Type: Pellet, AA: 15, Use: Boil for 60 min, IBU: 44.29
0.25 oz – Amarillo, Type: Pellet, AA: 8.6, Use: Aroma for 1 min, IBU: 2.53
0.5 oz – Citra, Type: Pellet, AA: 11, Use: Aroma for 1 min, IBU: 6.47
1 oz – Citra, Type: Pellet, AA: 11, Use: Whirlpool for 20 min at 180 °F
0.5 oz – Amarillo, Type: Pellet, AA: 8.6, Use: Whirlpool for 20 min at 180 °F
0.25 oz – Columbus, Type: Pellet, AA: 15, Use: Whirlpool for 20 min at 180 °F
0.5 oz – Amarillo, Type: Pellet, AA: 8.6, Use: Dry Hop at peak fermentation
0.5 oz – Citra, Type: Pellet, AA: 11, Use: Dry Hop at peak fermentation
0.5 oz – Citra, Type: Pellet, AA: 11, Use: Keg Hop
0.5 oz – Amarillo, Type: Pellet, AA: 8.6, Use:Keg Hop

MASH GUIDELINES:
1) Infusion, Temp: 155 F, Time: 60 min, Amount: 8 qt

OTHER INGREDIENTS:
1 tsp – gypsum, Time: 10 min, Type: Water Agt, Use: Boil
1 tsp – calcium chloride, Time: 10 min, Type: Water Agt, Use: Boil

YEAST:
OMEGA LABS – DIPA Yeast (CONAN)
Starter: Yes
Form: Liquid
Attenuation (avg): 80%
Flocculation: Med-Low
Optimum Temp: 62 – 75 F
Fermentation Temp: 62-65 F

TARGET WATER PROFILE:
Detroit Tap

I cannot stress the importance of minimizing exposure to oxygen (after initial aeration) enough.  After fermentation completes, give the yeast 48 hours extra or so to clean up.  Then, cold crash for 48 hours or so before transferring to your serving keg.  Usually I’m going from grain to glass in 14-17 days with these style beers. Just because you can, doesn’t mean you should.  Allow your kegged and carbonated beer to sit for about a week prior to drinking.  I find that 2 weeks is even better.

Knowing what I know now after brewing this, I would decrease the % of dextrose to 3-4% and increase the Munich to hit gravity.  I would also toss some mosaic or whatever other tropical hop you have into the dry hop in an equal ratio contribution.  This was my first time using Conan yeast.  I would ramp up fermentation temperature by about 5 degrees.

Do you have anything to add?  Did I miss something?  Hit up the comments below and share!

Cheers!

julius

2 thoughts on “7.28.16 Tree House Julius Clone

  1. I’d add 6-10 oz of pale wheat malt, and a teaspoon of flour. I’d also take a read of your calcium in the water. You want it high. Also, check your ph at mash maintain a strick 149-151 temp. Dry hop 3-4 days before kegging… Don’t let the hops sit in the beer for more than days.

    Like

Leave a Reply

