11.2.2016 – Imperial Apple Pie Brown Ale

Pursuant to my heavy duty craving for big cool weather beers, this recipe was born.  I had received a few requests to make my pumpkin ale but since pumpkin is on the outs with the cool kids I decided to take a new approach.  Meet apple pie spice.  I haven’t had this before in Michigan so hopefully there’s not a reason why!

I called upon my new 10 gallon mash tun, 8 gallon fermenter, and 5 gallon keg to produce the biggest brown ale that I’ve made to date.  There was 15 lb of grain in my tun!  Since I always get a slight fruit bite from 1318 at cooler temperatures, I decided to try that to bring the apple flavor to the party.  I began by making a huge 2 step starter.

 

Grains/Fermentables:

American 2 Row

Maris Otter

Flaked Oats

Chocolate

C60

Special B

Aeromatic

C120

HOPS:

Hallertau Hersbrucker  (hops are kind of irrelevant here – shoot for 20ibu)

OTHER INGREDIENTS:

Yeast Nutrient

Calcium Chloride

Gypsum

Apple Pie Spice (ginger, cinnamon, nutmeg)

YEAST:

WY1318 London Ale III

Brew day again was uneventful.  My new norm is mashing with RO water and sparging with tap that has been treated with campden tablets.  I mashed at 150F for one hour, raised to 168F for mashout, and batch sparged for 20 minutes at 168F.  I then chilled to 80F, aerated with my drill attachment, and pitched my monster dose of 1318.  Fermentation began within the hour.  My OG came to 1.075.

20161002_145354

After 3 weeks at ambient temperature, I racked to the secondary for a week and added my pie spice.  After 3 days, I tasted a sample for flavor.  It was a bit light so I added another dose of spice, waited 3 more days, and transferred to my keg.  The beer finished at 1.018.  Perfect!  The beer conditioned for 48 hours at 35 psi before taking a pull.

20161102_184523

Up front, you’re met with a full, silky mouthfeel.  Impressions of fruit from the 1318 paired with the aroma of spice sends your palate to the cider mill.  APPLE PIE.  A multitude of malts then come forward to finish just right.  I couldn’t be more satisfied with this.

20161102_184520

Cheers!

2 thoughts on “11.2.2016 – Imperial Apple Pie Brown Ale

Leave a Reply

